Forum Thread

Female named ACM's 'Songwriter of the Year' for the first time ever

Reply to ThreadDisplaying 1 Posts
  • Are you sure you want to delete this post?

    Lori Mckenna was named the Academy of Country Music's Songwriter of the Year. In it's 52 year history, this a first time a woman has ever been given this award.

    Mckenna has written for Tim McGraw, Faith Hill, Little Big Town, Angaleena Presley, Hunter Hayes and RaeLynn, to name the bigger acts. She also solos herself. Pretty surprising to read that she is the first female to ever get this honor. Here are some others that it's hard to believe never received this:

    Patsy Cline
    Loretta Lynn
    Dolly Parton
    Reba McEntire
    Tammy Wynette
    Martina McBride
    Shania Twain
    Alison Krauss
    Sara Evans
    LeAnn Rimes

    (I put them in order of how surprised I was.)